Mpumalanga, (name changed from Eastern Transvaal on 24 August 1995), is a province in South Africa. The name means "the place where the sun rises" in Zulu. Mpumalanga lies in eastern South Africa, north of KwaZulu-Natal and bordering Swaziland and Mozambique. It constitutes 6.5% of South Africa's land area. In the north it borders on Limpopo and to the west the Free State and Gauteng. The capital is Nelspruit. Prior to 1994, Mpumalanga was part of Transvaal Province.